Search

Home > About Us > Staff > CI staff

CI staff

 

Research & Advocacy Staff

Director:
Associate Prof. Shanaaz Mathews

shanaaz.mathews@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 1473

Expertise: Children & violence, child protection, child abuse, gender policy, gender-based violence, evidence-based programming

Senior researcher:
Lizette Berry

lizette.berry@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 1462

Expertise: Social policy, early childhood development, child protection; child poverty

Intern (National Research Foundation):
Gloria Denga

gloria.denga@uct.ac.za 
+27 21 650 2341

Expertise: Mental health in resource-constrained communities; health behaviour change programmes; children and adolescent mortality; evidence-informed development

Senior researcher:
Aislinn Delany

aislinn.delany@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 5237

Expertise: Poverty & inequality, social protection, research methodologies

Senior researcher:
Dr Katharine Hall

kath.hall@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 1441

Expertise: Social policy; child poverty & inequality; social grants; households & mobility; indicators

Senior researcher:
Lucy Jamieson

lucy.jamieson@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 1466

Expertise: Child rights; participatory democracy; governance; law reform & policy development; child protection

Research Officer:
Jenna-Lee Marco

jenna.marco@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 5435

Expertise: Community & social advocacy; gender identity; youth development

Child rights programme manager:
Paula Proudlock

paula.proudlock@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 1442

Expertise: Child rights; legislative review; law reform; democracy & governance; socio-economic rights for children

Honorary Professor:
Prof Ria Reis

R.Reis@lumc.nl

Medical University of Leiden and University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Expertise: Transgenerational transmission of inequality; participatory approaches; parenting

Senior researcher:
Stefanie Röhrs

stefanie.rohrs@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 5391

Expertise: child rights; law reform & policy development; gender-based violence; sexual & reproductive rights

Researcher:
Winnie Sambu

winnie.sambu@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 1464

Expertise: Food & nutrition security, child nutritional outcomes, living conditions, urban environments; poverty

Honorary Research Associate:
Birgit Weyss

birgit.weyss@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 1473

Expertise: Child rights; international human rights law; democracy & governance; budget & expenditure analysis; monitoring & evaluation

   
Professional, Administrative & Support Staff

Finance officer:
Isabbel Cooper

isabbel.cooper@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 1467

 

Communication & Education Specialist:
Lori Lake

lori.lake@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 1465

Expertise: Knowledge translation, materials development, teaching and children’s rights.

Senior administrator:
Zelda Warrin

zelda.warrin@uct.ac.za
+27 21 650 1473